Train service brought modern construction materials and made mountain mining towns more hospitable to families, and in 1883 this building was constructed to educated the first children of the area. Of the thousands of one-room schoolhouses constructed at the turn of the century, only about 400 still exist. The building has the original belfry and bell, but was moved from its original location. A new schoolhouse was constructed in 1910 to accommodate the growing population, and the building was used as a church until 1962.
When the Dillon Dam reservoir was created, the schoolhouse was moved to its current location for preservation, and when a new church was constructed in 1972 the building was turned into a community museum. Artifacts on display include a Centennial flag, black celestial globe, McGuffy desks, and a kerosene slide projector with glass slides. A room adjacent to the schoolroom displays blacksmith tools, assay scales, a butcher’s block, and post office boxes.
The museum is open 11am-3pm Tues-Fri in the summer, and by appointment at other time of year.