Sally Barber Mine Trail

Sallie Barber mine

From the trailhead, begin the hike by crossing French Creek, then walking through an open valley before gently ascending through the shade of the pine tree lined trail. After climbing the wide, gradual trail, hikers reach the ruins of the Sallie Barber Mine. The 365-foot-deep mine was established in 1880 and was a long-time producer of rich zinc ore. Much of the original mining equipment sits on display to check out before hiking or skiing down the gradual descent back down. The easy to moderate trails is about three miles long.

Phone

Check Out

Welcome

Sally Barber Mine Trail